Event box

Saratoga Book Festival: Artful Crimes: Jonathan Santlofer in Conversation with Tom Piazza

Saratoga Book Festival: Artful Crimes: Jonathan Santlofer in Conversation with Tom Piazza

Date:
Saturday, October 16, 2021
Time:
11:30am - 12:30pm
Location:
Dutcher Community Room
Audience:
Adults
Categories:
Adult Programs Youth Programming

Passion and crime in the art world is the settings for a new novel by crime fiction master Jonathan Santlofer. Called “a must for fans of Dan Brown and Arturo Perez-Reverte,” by Kirkus Reviews, Jonathan Santlofer’s new book, The Last Mona Lisa, is a colorful and absorbing mystery, steeped in art and complete with exciting action scenes and beautiful descriptions of Florence, Paris, and Nice.

Due to unforeseen conflicts with her schedule, Megan Abbott will no longer be able to participate in the Saratoga Book Festival. Tom Piazza a celebrated novelist and a writer on American music and a principal writer for the innovative HBO drama series TREME will join Jonathan Santlofer in discussion of their respective careers as writers and contemporary genre fiction today.

Tom Piazza is celebrated as a novelist and a writer on American music. His twelve books include the novels A Free State and City Of Refuge, the post-Katrina manifesto Why New Orleans Matters, and the essay collection Devil Sent The Rain. He was a principal writer for the innovative HBO drama series TREME, and the winner of a Grammy Award for his album notes to Martin Scorsese Presents The Blues: A Musical Journey.

Here Santlofer and Piazza will engage in discussion of subjects, themes, and genres they have explored in their careers as writers.

Registration through the Saratoga Book Festival website is required.

Photo Credit for Jonathan Santlofer (left): Clarke Tolton

More events like this...